surreal.

So I’m sitting awake at 3:30 AM after having just finished a very hard paper to write, and I’m thinking of how it all happened. I left SBRI six years ago to pursue my interests in music, and now I’m back again, not as a dancer, but as a musician and communications intern. It feels good to be back, and I did not realize how much I missed being back into the flow of things until I got hired back as communications intern. Attending rehearsals, watching costume fittings, and once again hanging out backstage with the rest of the dancers feels very surreal and I can’t help pinching myself to remind myself that it’s all real. It’s been so long since I’ve had to wake up early to attend an early dress rehearsal.

Watching the dancers reminds me of how far SBRI has come since I’ve left, and how far I’ve come since I’ve left, and how much farther I can go.

I only feel bad that finals week is preventing me from being as immersed into the experience as I could be. I can’t help wondering what I’ll be doing this time next year…

For now, let me just say that accompanying dancers has improved my musicianship, and helped me cultivate a kind of evenness of tempo that I so lack.

Leave a Reply

