John Branch on discovering music through dance. Very informative blog post, and I will definitely be checking out more live music/new music/dance combos in the future.

don't miss it



Music to Move By

Most music moves us to move. I discovered this as a child, before I had ever seen dancing: my father played classical records at home, and when the music was on I often found myself in motion across the living-room floor, giving form to how it felt. (Why did my parents send only my sister to ballet school, signing me up to play football at the Y instead? Because this was the late 50s and early 60s, and it was Texas to boot.) So I learned early how music could inspire dance. When I watched dance later on, I also learned that it could lead me back to music.

Seeing V performed by the Mark Morris Dance Group was a good example: It’s a barefoot dance for 14, with costumes by Martin Pakledinaz that look, in pictures, like activewear crossed with sleepwear. You might think…

View original post 770 more words

Leave a Reply

