Post GRE

I survived the GRE with decent enough scores that I don’t have to take it again. I haven’t gotten my essay scores yet, so let’s hope that I haven’t failed those. But so far, the most daunting part (I SO KNOW I am going to eat these words later in the application process) of the application is done, and now I can forget that I ever knew how to get an area of a sphere, and how to get combinations of the number of times someone can eat vegetables and meat if there are four vegetable dishes and five meat dishes he can choose from and if he can only eat two dishes at once and if one of those dishes has to be a vegetable dish.

But forget about combinations. By this time in the coming weeks, I will be somewhere in Taipei, eating this:

HOW’S THAT FOR A VEGETABLE AND MEAT DISH?

So after the GREs? It’s also time to put together a preliminary reading list for my senior thesis.

1. George Bornstein, ed. Romantic and Modern: Revaluations of Literary Tradition (Univ Pittsburgh Press, 1977). Thesis advisor says, “The introduction by Bornstein and the chapter on Eliot by Glenn O’Malley will probably be helpful.”

2. Finish Discovering Modernism by Louis Menand

3. Finish The Rest is Noise by Alex Ross, which is quite frankly one of the most engaging music history texts that I’ve read while still being informative.

4. Arthur Symons, “The Symbolist Movement in Literature”

5. Michael Levenson, A Genealogy of Modernism (Cambridge University Press, 1984)

6. David Chinitz’s book TS Eliot and the Cultural Divide

7. Jewel Spears Brooker, ed., TS Eliot and Our Turning World

8. I should pick up that “T.S. Eliot’s Orchestra” book ed. John Xiros Cooper again

I also have to study for the GRE subject test in literature.

And work on my personal statement(s) for grad school.

And practice for my senior recital. I have my work cut out for me this summer.

Comments
3 Responses to “Post GRE”
  1. jamesroom964x says:

    I’m in the process of studying for the GRE now, congrats that you’re already done! Also, looks like you’ve got the makings of an interesting thesis with that reading list.

  2. michael says:

    Good luck with everything, Abby! And, huh. That’s weird. I think my English prof. last term edited that version of Eliot’s Orchestra.

Leave a Reply

