convincing-ness

At the end of the day, I do know the answer to my own question. Whether it will be convincing depends a lot on the steps I take and the work/effort involved to make my point to the people I want to convince (in this case it’s my English professors and grad schools). Depends also on the guns I want to pull and how I use those guns: in this case it’s both the backing of my musical education and proper utilization of what I’ve learned in my college classes, and also some strategic maneuvering of thinking, brain-wise. And also whether I’m even moderately intelligent to pull this off.

That is to say, I’d like to think for the sake of this project that I’m at least moderately intelligent.

Will it be convincing to the majority? Being convincing will be a small step in terms of success of my venture. Perhaps thats’s a risk one has to take in making art, or even writing very long papers.

Maybe that’s enough for now. I don’t know.

The first person I have to convince is myself. I think I’m already convinced of it, actually. I wouldn’t be devoting much time to it if I felt that it wasn’t worthwhile and wasn’t contributing anything, and if I didn’t at least feel that it would be interesting to some people. And also remembering that the point of any paper or research or senior thesis is not to end conversation but to continue it.

And beyond that, it’s a matter of Not Being Lazy.

(Can I also take a moment to say that this is one of the most terrifying things I’ve ever done???)

Leave a Reply

