Do I dare? Literature Inspired Art

I’m all for literature-inspired art. Saw this on Facebook the other day, and I think it’s pretty cool. About the inspiration for this project, the artist, Evan Robertson, wrote,

That’s the spirit of this series of illustrations. I took little snippets of text and ideas from some of my favorite authors (with some notable exceptions that I’m saving), and let the words be a springboard for an illustration. The illustrations incorporate and interact with the text and hopefully add up to something that engages the mind as much as the eye.

These one-liners are great and well-chosen, and I’m obviously a fan of the T.S. Eliot one. I think it’s very visually evocative of the thematic material of the poem, which I think is no small feat. Rather than being merely decontextualized text, they make me want to read the original work to find what it was “all about.” The design and typography is perfect, too. So eye-catching!

My other favorite is the Jane Austen one:

The Ulysses one is pretty awesome, too.

Here’s the Etsy shop. I’m thinking maybe a Christmas present for myself?

Comments
One Response to “Do I dare? Literature Inspired Art”
  1. michael says:

    Huh. Lovely, a creative change.

Leave a Reply

