blood brothers

Ingrid Michaelson’s music video for ‘Blood Brothers’ was free on iTunes the other day, so I downloaded it and watched it for the first time in between abstracts and essays about culture.

I don’t think the lyrics bears much analysis for the meaning to be clear: she’s appealing to some common humanity beneath our different faces (or facades, if you will), and it is for that reason that everyone needs compassion and empathy. I think that’s a pretty powerful, straightforward message.

If you knew me would you lift me from the ground
If you loved me would you even hear me make a sound
We’re all blood, we’re all blood, blood brothers
We’re all blood, we’re all blood, blood brothers

What you need, what you need I need too
What you are, what you are I am too
’cause we’re all the same under a different name
We’re all blood, we’re all blood, blood brothers
We’re all blood, we’re all blood, blood brothers

I really liked the Amy Winehouse bit.

Leave a Reply

