undue distress

Writing about music probably causes me the most amount of undue distress. Sometimes there seems to me to be a prescribed way to write about things, and a certain amount of pre-existing knowledge of technique and theory that needs to happen for me to write about music correctly, and all of which I don’t have. (That is not to say that those things are a bad thing — though it is  doesn’t reflect on me well that I don’t have all of those under my belt at this point.) Especially when it comes to works that have been written about SO many times that the act of generating productive discourse is inherently exhausting. Is this partly the production of my own paranoia and my insecurities about my ability to be illuminating and engaging?

Maybe. I sometimes wonder if there’s something to it though. I don’t think it should get to the point where it should cause paralysis.

Leave a Reply

