an update on my life

School started last Tuesday, and since then, I haven’t had the chance to do any hardcore blogging. So far it’s been filled with meetings, trying to figure out my class schedule, and planning for graduate school and senior thesis.

Yesterday: hung out with an English major friend who graduated this past spring. She has a baller haircut, and pulls it off so well. It was awesome to catch up and gripe about things like the GRE literature and grad school application stress. Had really awesome coffee at Small Point Café, too! This was followed by a trip to two bookstores: Cellar Stories and Symposium Books. Book purchases happened: a translation of Beowulf (trans. Seamus Heaney), Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats, a collection of poetry and prose by G. M. Hopkins, and another volume of Eliot poetry. All was bought for 20 dollars total. Friend said that if she and I hang out a lot, we are going to end up buying so many books. I can’t say that I have a problem with that. Books are good. More knowledge ftw.

I also saw a copy of The Cambridge Companion to Modernist Poetry in Symposium Books for about 35 dollars. It seems that there’s a Cambridge Companion to everything… I own The Cambridge Companion to T.S. Eliot and have encountered The Cambridge Companion to Modernism as well as The Cambridge Companion to European Modernism. The introduction started with a quote from T.S. Eliot. Hard to pass up, but at that price… and then I went home and looked on Amazon and found this. I’m intrigued. What justification is there for having a merely “acceptable” copy of a recently published book cost 150 dollars? Is it made of gold?

This was a fantastic breakfast sandwich

I then went back to my dorm, did my Chinese homework, read about a French poet who dragged his pet lobster about on a string through the streets of France, drank an obscene amount of French vanilla tea, and went to bed.

A few days before that, I had two meetings about graduate school with two professors, respectively, and things are underway. I have fantastic professors who are really awesome at mentoring. The end result is that I’m going to a musicology conference at Holy Cross, and I am excited.

I read 62 pages of The Symbolist Movement in Literature by Arthur Symons, and the chapter on Jules LaForgue is fantastic. Finished Literary Theory: An Introduction FINALLY, and I am proud of myself, though there is so much that went over my head that I think I should reread it after my thesis is done.

Next week is filled with the usual meetings and library visits. My friend and I will hopefully make our meetings a weekly thing, which will be fantastic. And on the 16th I will be going to watch the CVS 5k in support of said friend and friend from church, and then going to Boston in the evening to watch Pentatonix at Berklee. SO EXCITED, needless to say.

It’s going to be a good semester.

Leave a Reply

