I have not blogged in a while.

Today brought with it the realization that I haven’t blogged for a while. I’ve been up to a lot of fun things lately since I got back to school. There’s never a shortage of stuff to do, and I’ve been busy having coffee meetings with various friends to talk about books, restaurant trips, and a musicology conference at Holy Cross I attended for the whole day today. The senior thesis is also taking shape, which is encouraging. Somehow I did not expect things to happen as fast as it did, especially since I always feel as though there could be more reading I could be doing before finding the best way to do things. I feel ready though, at this point, and there’s no point in lagging because applications are COMING UP and I need to get started on those, stat.

Today I went to a musicology conference in Worcester. Holy Cross is one of the prettiest campuses I’ve ever seen, but holy cow a lot of stairs! It’s situated on a hill, and someone remarked that it had a lot to do with the idea of a “city on a hill.” There’s a great overlook, and lots of ivy wrapped around red brick buildings. The gardening is really nice too, and I sighted an outdoor cafe type of area. It’s too bad it was a little too cold, and that I was too busy attending the conference to walk around and take pictures of the campus.

The musicology conference today really helped me solidify in my mind what I really want to do. There’s two things I’ve always been really interested in during my time in college, and choosing between them has always been difficult. I think I made the right decision, though, and I don’t think I’ll ever leave one or the other… it’s just ultimately a different engagement. Though a lot of people made a good point to me that it’s something important to think about, since I’ll be in the job market eventually.

A week ago, hung out with some friends at a really nice Japanese restaurant. They had a bento box special which consisted of a small appetizer, chicken teriyaki and rice, salad, miso soup, and an ice cream. The green tea ice cream was absolutely delicious and such a good choice. I have an affinity for food out of boxes, and I think I’d try this place more often because the prices are good. The sushi is apparently excellent too, but I didn’t feel like sushi that day.

The next day, hung out with another friend at the mall and had Pinkberry! Peach frozen yogurt with mochi, coconut, and strawberries. I’m so happy they have a tiny size, which reduces the stress of having to finish the whole thing. The Pinkberry people are nice.

Other things: ate at Teriyaki House last night (really nice restaurant) and found out that 1/3rd of it has been converted into a cute little cafe that serves coffee drinks, tea, and BUBBLE TEA. The bubble tea I had was decent, and I always have these things and forget to ask for soy. It was delicious though, but the bubbles could be sweeter. These were a little bit bland and the texture was a little bit off, but otherwise pretty decent and in an accessible location.

Other than me still managing to sustain a social life, it’s just school and school-related things. I’m being adventurous and going into the Brown University area several times next week though for various concert things and lectures and appointments. Life is busy, but it feels pretty good at the moment.

Leave a Reply

