little buddha pears

Can I just say how cute these pears are?

Chinese farmer Hao Xianzhang has perfected the process of growing pears inside Buddha shaped plastic molds. They are sold at 50 yuan (about $7.32 USD) in the village of Hexia, China and are thought to bring good luck.

Here’s how it’s done. Info here.

Someone should try these out with different kinds of mold and different kinds of fruit. Speaking of food, my birthday is coming up and I am going to Duck and Bunny with a bunch of my friends. Pictures to follow… hopefully. If they won’t be up here, they will be up on my Foodspotting account.

Comments
One Response to “little buddha pears”
  1. michael says:

    Huh. That’s one of the most amazing things I’ve seen today! (Or yesterday or even the day before for that matter!)

Leave a comment